Graduate Student Wins Award at Carolinas Convention

A College of Charleston communication graduate student, Anna-Fiona Cooke, won first place in the 2008 Carolinas Communication Association’s Mary E. Jarrard Graduate Paper Award competition.

The Jarrard Award winners were named at the Annual Convention of the Carolinas Communication Association, which was held Oct. 3-4, 2008, in Columbia, SC.

Cooke won first place honors for her paper, titled “Type. Send. Communicate.: Text and Instant Messaging within the Workforce and its Effects on Management.”

“There is strong competition for this award,” said Brian McGee, Chair of the Department of Communication. “My faculty colleagues and I congratulate Anna-Fiona for this recognition.”

Earl Capps and Kathryn DuRant are past College of Charleston winners of this award. Earl Capps presented a paper at this year’s convention.

Also with papers accepted for the 2008 CCA convention from the College of Charleston were faculty members Doug Ferguson, Brian McGee, and Deborah Socha McGee. Celeste Lacroix, a former President of the Carolinas Communication Association Convention and College of Charleston professor, attended the convention and its Executive Council meeting.

With the largest undergraduate major at the College of Charleston, the Department of Communication enrolls more than 800 students in its undergraduate and graduate programs. Students in the department study such topics as political communication, interpersonal communication, journalism, and public relations. The department is housed in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>