header image

Fanchon Morrow Condon Memorial Award/Outstanding Economics Student Award 2016

Posted by: blackwellc | May 28, 2016 | No Comment |

The Condon Award is given annually to the most outstanding student majoring in economics. The recipient is chosen by the economics faculty based on individual achievement. This year the faculty selected Mary Frances “Frankie” Zeager.

Frankie graduated from the Honors College at the College of Charleston with a major in Economics and minors in Asian Studies and Mathematics. For the last two years she was selected to be a Market Process Scholar, representing the College of Charleston School of Business by interacting with the invited guests of the Center for Public Choice & Market Process. As a Scholar, she regularly participated in the Economics Book Colloquium and several weekend reading symposiums. She traveled with the program to Nashville and Washington, DC to learn more about various business CEOs and academic scholars to learn more about business and economic policy. Most recently, she presented her Bachelor’s Essay on “Regime Durability, Institutional Memory and Economic Freedom” at the Association of Private Enterprise Education Undergraduate Poster Session. She intends to continue to work on the project to publish it in an academic journal.

In addition, to being an excellent student she interned at the Charleston Regional Development Alliance. With a mind toward globalization, she spent multiple summers in China, and served as a volunteer ambassador for AFS International, an international exchange organization for high school students.

She was also involved in a variety of campus clubs and activities, including serving on the Dean’s Student Forum, the Micro-Finance Club, Rotaract Club, and the Alliance for Planet Earth.

She applied to and was accepted into several Ph.D. programs in Economics, as well as several Masters Programs in Data Science. She intends to pursue her graduate education in fall in UVA’s Data Science Program.

Congratulations Frankie!

Frankie Zeager receives the Condon Award from Economics Chair Calvin Blackwell

under: Students

Leave a response -

Your response:


Skip to toolbar