Department Hosted 16 Teams for the Annual International Collegiate Programming Contest

The Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) coordinates the annual International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC), which is the premier competitive programming competition in the world. In 2015, the College of Charleston won first place in ICPC’s Southeast Division II which included 60 teams from 20 universities. The winning team consisted of three senior computer science students, one of whom had previously competed, and all of whom graduated this past Spring.

On Saturday, November 5, 2016, for the second consecutive year, the College of Charleston was one of the host sites for the competition. Division II featured 71 teams from 25 universities:

The College of Charleston                                      Mississippi State University

The University of Georgia                                       The University of Southern Mississippi

The University of North Florida                               Emory University

The University of South Alabama                           Valdosta State University

Winthrop University                                                 The University of West Florida

Kennesaw State University                                     Bob Jones University

Georgia Gwinnett College                                       Morehouse College

Columbus State University                                      Armstrong Atlantic State University

Samford University                                                  Augusta State University

Florida Southern College                                        Stetson College

Wofford College                                                       Nova Southeastern

Mercer University                                                    The Citadel 

Auburn University at Montgomery


The College of Charleston had two teams to represent in the competition:

  • Sudon’t: Blaine Billings, Freshman; Scott White, Senior; and Griffin Hiers, Sophomore
  • And Yet IT Compiles: Megan Landau, Junior; Alex Swanson, Freshman; and Anthony Morrell, Freshman

Neither teams had previous ICPC experience, but had a fantastic performance with sudon’t finishing first place at the competition site and 5th overall, and And Yet IT Compiles finishing second place at the competition site and 19th overall.

2016 ACM ICPC CofC Teams

2016 ACM ICPC CofC Teams

Congratulations to (from left to right) Coach Sebastian, Blaine, Scott, Griffin, Alex, Anthony, and Megan!  Additional photos can be seen on our CS Department Facebook.